18
Sep
08

Chariots of ACiD

Something magical happened tonight during my semi-regular night time walks. Inspiration surged through me to the chords of Laura Ingalls Wilder audiobooks and I took flight. I soared for at least 30 yards. A good, slow fullback rumble. I had started running.

It’s been years, and years and… years since I’ve ran. I’m about to leave work or I’d write more about it.

Here’s the catch. All I have to judge my progress is a pedometer. It’s great for measuring my walks, but I’m pretty sure it won’t gauge running. At least without some pretty advanced mathematical trickery on my part (editing my stride length, running backwards 1/3rd of the time, practicing javelin). So, how do you literate athletes measure and judge your runs? Not your diarrhea, I’m pretty good with that. But your long, inspiring races on the pounding shores and concrete lanes? Help.

As a reward, here’s an awesome rap video from 1990.

I hope that video works. The uploaded disabled embedding. How RIAA of them. 8=D

Time to go home

3 Responses to “Chariots of ACiD”


  1. 1 salstress
    September 18, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    1. buy this book (I really do mean you should BUY THIS BOOK!): http://www.amazon.com/Galloways-Book-Running-2-Ed/dp/0936070277/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1221767590&sr=1-1

    2. sign up for athlinks so you can a) add me as a friend, b) have a place to track what you plan to do as well as what you actually do and c) get more inspired to run more: http://www.athlinks.com/

    3. consider buying some kind of apparatus such as nike+: http://nikeplus.nike.com/nikeplus/ or body bugg: http://www.bodybugg.com/

    4. get good running shoes: http://www.asicsamerica.com/products/product.aspx?PRODUCT_ID=240009383&TITLE_CATEGORY_ID=250001542 (if you want some for virtually half price I can get them for you on a special deal)

    Okay I realize the answer to your question is contained in #3 but I thought you needed MOAR.

  2. 2 asciigod
    September 19, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Thanks Salstress. I’ll definately check out that Athlinks place. Is Raddo on there?

    I’ve been doing this place called “Sparkpeople” because my buddy uses it, but it’s turning out to be kinda “meh”. It’s decent enough, but tries to be “all things to all people”, and kind of suffers for it.

    The other links, I kind of new about, except the book. Just have to save up enough money I guess. I ran again tonight. It was dope. Fucked an armadillo at the end.

  3. February 18, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Thanks Salstress for the link to Athlinks – we hope that you enjoy the site.

    Best,
    Troy


Leave a Reply

