07
Jul
08

Internet consolidation

This wild Web 2.0 experience is out of control. Information seems like it piles up, overreaching my limits and spilling on me like nuclear stockpiles. Bookmarks and files and emails and lists, sometimes it’s too much. Actually, it’s been too much for awhile.

I recently got my first “new” computer in over 7 years. This weekend I was supposed to go out of town, but that kind of fell through by necessity so I used my time to work on this new machine. It’s a beast. It’s also a much needed clean slate. Between moving files, pictures, txt files, programs, and email from my old machine to this one, I’ve finally just kind of said “fuck it”. I’ve been pretty overwhelmed lately, and generally dissatisfied because of it. Moving all of these things that grew like mold on my psyche has been sort of cathartic. I’ve purposely closed the IRC window, and I’m only running productivity apps at the moment. The “outside world” of the internet is shut off. And, right now, it feels pretty good.

Some of the highlights:

Discovering 64bit Vista is very attractive. And thus far, pretty functional. Aside from minor problems with winrar not working as it had previously, and an SSL proxy application I used not working at all, it’s been smooth sailing. Vista is just *clean*. Sure, most of the visual stuff was stolen from other operating systems, but whatever. I haven’t actually gotten into much of the OS really, but nothing appears to function wildly different than in XP. Besides the user control pop up stuff of course, which was easily disabled.

Uploading tons of text files and spreadsheets to Google docs. Liberating myself from transferring files manually to work remotely. Pretty k-rad. Also, dumping Tadalist.com for simple “Word documents” in G-Dox. Nice, easier to maintain, and centralized. Too bad tadalist and the Ruby on Rails visionaries at 37Buttholes or whatever decided Basecamp had to cost an arm and a leg for a small user. Sure, its a good solution for the small, dynamic, go get em, Biz2.0 organization. But too expensive for me. Thanks Google. You married a hot wife in gene splicing too.

Being able to reinstall vital applications in an orderly manner. This is always useful, OS upgrade need not apply. Felt good to trim the fat though.

Up next, maybe, sorting Pablodraw directory.

Priceless: Closing MiRC. Hopefully, forever? An addict can dream.

7 Responses to “Internet consolidation”


  1. 1 Steve McAwesome
    July 8, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    I hate you. Keep mirc closed forever. Install irssi.

  2. 2 Steve McAwesome
    July 9, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Oh, and by the way, I told salstress that “asciigod” was spidy. She believes me. I think radman is playing along too.

  3. 3 asciigod
    July 9, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Salstress knows I’m asciigod. We chat on FLiXSTER. Newb.

  4. 4 wtf
    July 9, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    Quit IRC? I’ll kill you. 😦

  5. 5 asciigod
    July 10, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Word APSTEWART, I’ve setup this Meebo thing, and apparently you’re my friend on MSN. However, Meebo constantly disconnects at work, but see if you can find me on there. I’ll be back soon I’m sure, to some extent.

    It’s been absolutely wonderful to be away from some of the crazy ass bastards on iRC though. 😛

  6. 6 salstress
    July 12, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Top 10 reasons for spinane to quit irc:

    10. stevemkk
    9. stevepsu
    8. stevemmc
    7. dopieACAB
    6. steve*
    5. irc is so 1993
    4. acro
    3. singularly unique outlet for clever one-liners
    2. hit and run love smacks thinly veiled as insults
    1. salstress

    Wait, 1-4 are reasons for spinsane NOT to quit irc.

    One should never throw the chatbaby out with the chat bathwater!

  7. 7 asciigod
    July 14, 2008 at 12:15 am

    _O/“&
    <\

    100% original ascii


Leave a Reply

